• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

BPD person seeking help with addiction to Meth

Mibz

Greenlighter
Hello all I'm new to this and seeking some guidance. I'm battling a meth issue for 30 plus years. I go long periods without it, then relapse. Usually do to running into someone who indulges, and not able to avoid them. For instance, I live in a small HUD complex. Everyone here has a disability of some sort. A neighbor who is someone I can relate to, still is active in her drug usage. I can't move, but have put my name on other listings. I will stay away from her for days, some times weeks. Then we connect somehow and then it starts all over again. I also have BPD so, one of my parts keeps me active and the other parts hate that its happening. Working with my therapist helps, but ultimately it is my choice or addiction that keeps me active.
Advice?

Hello i also have BPD and when it comes to relapsing it’s normally caused by my mood swings turning into not caring and losing self control. So when I feel like I’ve given up or suddenly not care about my future the best thing to do is (although hard to start) reach out to friends until I feel better which could possibly help you too.

Also regarding your neighbour couldn’t you tell them your situation in hopes of not tempting you to relapse if she doesn’t respect your choice I’d say cut as much contact and focus on your life. Hope that any of this will help u and wish you well for the future.

Hello i also have BPD and when it comes to relapsing it’s normally caused by my mood swings turning into not caring and losing self control. So when I feel like I’ve given up or suddenly not care about my future the best thing to do is (although hard to start) reach out to friends until I feel better which could possibly help you too.