• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

Anyone else smoke to curb other addictions?

ddressdd_fr_space

Greenlighter
I've been smoking weed on and off for 6 years. About a year after I started smoking, I got caught and had to get drug tested for a year, but I started again after the drug tests stopped (then got caught again, the cycle repeats). During the periods of time when I couldn't smoke, I fucked with other drugs (was only getting tested for THC) and as a result I was addicted to opiates for a few years. Now that I've been on a opiate-blocking shot called Vivitrol for over a year, whenever I couldn't smoke weed, I got pretty close to getting addicted to benzos and meth. It's just my personality- every day, i'd be looking for a rush/high, and it clouds my motivation,responsibility,judgment,and who i really am.

Anyways.. Since I moved out of my parents' house a couple of months ago I've been smoking again, and of all the reasons why I love the herb, what is the most important to me is that it completely prevents cravings, addictive behavior, and any desire to use hard drugs. As long as I'm smoking, I know I'm not going to lose focus in the middle of the day and give in to the temptation of looking for drugs for the rest of the day. So I save money, time, and gas, and I'm closer than ever with the people I love. I just pack a bowl whenever I've got 5 minutes to spare in the car or my room, problem solved. People like me often get into 12 step programs and being 100% sober from all drugs, but trying that approach has only made things worse for me in the end.
Only thing that sucks about smoking, for me personally, is that the peace of mind and addictive personality isn't all that goes away, I also lose my motivation and ability to engage with people socially. You win some, you have to lose some, I guess.