• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Heroin Advice opioid maintenence/recovering from overdose

Sashaa

Greenlighter
Hey, hope everyone is keeping well. I was just hoping for some advice.

I've been using heroin (IV) for about the last 8 months, and oxys and codeine before that. I realised I had a problem around the start of the year, and since then have managed to bring my habit down from 3 or 4 shots a day to maybe two or three days a fortnight. I find the most I can go through is about two weeks before the cravings start to really get on top of me and I end up using.

I guess my goal was to just keep trying to stop using, get a job, keep busy, keep seeing my psychologist, and see if I could extend that two weeks to three, than a month, and so on. But I'm in a bad place now cos I used again late last week and I'm lucky to still be here. I shot as per usual, didn't think I used that much, and my partner told me I was out within a few minutes. I was just super lucky my partner was able to administer the narcan, and gave me CPR for about ten minutes cos I stopped responding and wasn't breathing. I came too just as the paramedics and cops were coming into my room. It was like flicking a switch, one minute I was shooting up, the next I was almost dead. Hectic. The cops said they had been a spike in overdoses in Sydney recently, probably due to a massive heroin shortage due to Covid leading dealers to cut their supply with all sorts of other shit. In general heroin in Australia has avoided the fent problem elsewhere, not saying this was cut with fent, but possibly something else.