• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos A thought about benzo dependence and harm reduction...

JM357

Bluelighter
I want to say I wanted to discuss this issue- I am not an expert on benzos and recently was asking about dependence (how long it takes/how often they can be used without becoming dependent) and have only been dependent on benzos in low doses of kpin when prescribed and came off with relatively few problems. But based on observations I wanted to talk about the common advice given to people dependent: call your doctor so they can put you on a diazepam taper/go to the ER. I will say if you have no benzos and going into WD yes go to the ER. But in other situations (like the person getting an rx (which could be yanked out from under them) or being dependent and going to the ER) I wanted to discuss this advice. I am definitely open to opposing opinions and it is why I posted this thread. I posted this on a thread for someone personally going through it but wanted to make a general thread so this could be discussed as I've seen disturbing things happen when docs take people off benzos:

Everyone says go to the ER- but honestly I can't say going to the doc is always even the safest route (I will probably get flamed for this but give me a minute to explain). Before I go further I will say this though- if you find yourself getting to where you won't be able to get benzos and will have to taper much faster than you should- YES GO TO THE HOSPITAL OR IMMEDIATELY CALL A DOCTOR.