24 years old... Seriously considering giving up psychoactives completely.

Jimmy_Pop

Bluelighter
Hey everyone.

This is my first real post on this forum (aside from my newbie introduction thread), so excuse me if this is the wrong sub-forum for this topic.

Okay, soooo.

Where to begin...

I guess I'll start at the end: I'm 24 years old, I just finished college (literally wrote my last exam a week ago), I have started a business and am beginning to do quite well with it, I've moved out of my parents' place and am renting an apartment for the first time in my life... And I'm addicted to booze and stimulants.

Now, the being addicted to booze and stimulants thing is nothing new (I've had both addictions for more than 5 years on and off).

However, the whole "holy shit I'm actually responsible for taking care of myself now" is new.

I was fortunate enough to grow up in a town with a pretty decent college, so after I graduated HS, I never left my parents' place and did the whole college res experience thing. I just stayed in my folks' basement and paid my way through school by working mindless jobs at call centers, electronics stores, etc.

On the surface, that might seem like a good thing. And in many ways, it was (it did allow me to save money at a time when many people go deeply into debt).

However, it had one very negative effect: leaving me with enough money to buy tons of booze and coke, while making me feel secure enough to not care about being addicted.