• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Polydrug Dependence and Possible W/D

Sertürner

Bluelight Crew
I have been a long time viewer of site and finally have a question of my own that needs answering.

I am concerned I have polydrug abuse problems and am wondering how bad my withdrawals might be if I were to quit between 1 and/or all 3 drugs I use almost daily. I drink about 4-6 (but up to 9-13 on occasion) beers a night (I don't drink liquor because I get hostile and violent). I have been doing this for about 2 years, give or take a couple months. I take kratom 2-3 times a day, with a total of about 14-21 grams a day of dried leaf powder (not extract). And I have been taking Xanax for a chronic medical condition. I have been on the Xanax for 5 months. I am supposed to take 3mg of alprazolam a day but I always take more the first few days and then for the last two weeks or so I have to cut back and take 2mg a day. For the first 4 months i took too many and had about a week of 0mg of Xanax before my script could be refilled.

I am concerned I have a poly drug abuse issue since I feel a craving for every one of these substances daily. On the times I had to have 0mg Xanax I can't tell if I was in withdrawals or not but I am worried that if I run out again I will have W/D's and not even know it until it's too late and have a seizure or something.

So my question is, what are the chances I get a physical W/D if I quit even one of these substances? And what about if I were to quit all of them at once? I don't plan on quitting the Xanax (not without a taper at least) but, for the sake of the question let's assume I do Cold Turkey the Xanax.

What can I expect?

Ok so:

Alcohol - 18-20 units per day
Kratom - 14-21g leaf per day
Alprazolam - 2mg per day