• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

What do you mean by "nod"

ActiveMatx

Bluelighter
I always here people reffering to "nodding" off on heroin.

What does this mean? Is it possible to nod on oxycontin?

thanks

Nodding off means falling asleep, for heroin users it refers to the way they tend to unconciously fall forward, thus nodding their head. I have no experience with oxycontin but one would assume that most opiates give the 'nodding' effect.

Nodding off is when your right at the edge of falling alseep. You'll kind go in and out, but it's so calm. I also have amazing dreams while i'm nodding.

imagine falling asleep but being somehow aware that you are asleep and also aware that you feel amazing pleasure the whole time.

it's the state you're in after you're opiated and you lie down (or sit, or whatever) and close your eyes. it's kinda like a dream, only you can hear voices that seem really profound, and you have an extreme sense of well being, plus a nice body high. you're somewhere between unconscious and conscious, but as soon as you open your eyes, it goes away. It's most people's favourite part of being opiated.

Nodding is when the dream world and the waking world become one. The Latin "insomnia" best describes it. Whereas the English "insomnia" generally means the inability (or difficulty) to fall asleep, the Latin is more precise. It refers to a state in which the dream world (sleep) and the waking world (being awake) become one.

I've always thought that was interesting because Dido is "insomnia" in Book IV of Vergil's Aeneid, and there is also a reference made to papaver somniferum (the opium poppy). Was Vergil trying to say Dido was nodding? I don't know.