• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Xanax withdrawals after just 9 days

J1982

Greenlighter
Is it normal to get fairly bad withdrawals after just 9 days of taking Xanax? I did take about 27mg over this period but I have to stop due to a drug test in 7 days but after about 24 hours without it I feel like death. How could an addiction creep up that fast?

I'm sorry to hear about your troubles. I'm not a Xanax expert -- though I do have some experience with the substance -- but am a little surprised that you are experiencing such symptoms, given your situation. Some people say LOW amounts of alcohol can ease the dysphoria a bit, but that's not a suggestion any MD would make.

Feeling like death could be any number of symptoms. Youd have to be more specific to narrow down benzo withdrawal. Its unlikely at 9 days. Are you sweating, shaking, heart racing, palpitations, extreme anxiety that is not normal for you, high bp?

I have felt rebound anxiety/mild withdrawal(mild compared to how bad benzo withdrawal, still felt incredibly shitty though.) from 2 weeks or less of everyday benzo use. It also seems like the more times I have done alcohol and benzo binges, the easier it is/faster it takes to get withdrawal from gabaergics.(kindling effect)

if you previously were addicted to benzos then a yeah, a high dosage over a week or more is definitely enough to become addicted again