• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Words of the Day

AmorRoark

Bluelight Crew
Hey all, at times I come upon words bluelighters use which I have no knowledge of what they mean. In a very recent example, a lovely bluelighter used the word 'charlatanism'. I was clueless so I looked it up. I now feel more informed about what the word means & feel comfortable using it in my vocabulary.

Essentially, this thread's purpose is to expand our personal vocabulary! Please only include words/terms that might actually be useful to a significant number of bluelighters. Even if you think 'everybody knows this' don't feel like your contribution is worthless... there's probably someone out there who can grow from your knowledge! Lets grow together. :)

Would this count? It's an abbreviation.
SCOTUS - Supreme Court of The United States.
Did science in college and did many many gov't classes including AP Gov't and never heard of that being used except for on here by Australians. I always just said supreme court and everyone knew I meant the one here in the US. I'm assuming its the same in Australia where if they say Supreme Court they mean the Australian one.

Do American's use SCOTUS or just say Supreme Court?

Deracinate [dih-ras-uh-neyt]

to pull up by the roots; uproot; extirpate; eradicate.
to isolate or alienate (a person) from a native or customary culture or environment.

ZYGGY - We generally use the Supreme Court or SC from my experience. If you're referring to a particular state's Supreme Court we just add the state's name before the title: e.g. Kansas Supreme Court. Though to complicate matters some states have different titles for their different levels of court jurisdiction. For example, New York's 'Supreme Court' is their general jurisdiction court (generally the first 'trial court').

What a lovely thread from a most lovely lady ;) <3

Since I obsess about words and their etymologies, I naturally love this thread!

Uraeus