• Psychedelic Drugs Welcome Guest
    View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Why does the psychedelic experience come in waves?

Psychopathfinder

Greenlighter
Many psychedelics tend to come in waves, as you might have experienced. I don't know if all of a psychedelic's effects necessarily have this wave-like property, or if it's just some of the more hallucinatory mind-bending effects. There was a thread about this 11 years ago but they weren't able to come to any conclusions. A question that I have is: might the wave phenomenon be explained by a dynamic feedback system of compensatory mechanisms? (Sort of like the feedback inhibition mechanisms of the endocrine and nervous systems)?

Also, is it possible that cycling of hormone secretions is in any way involved?

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this.

By the way, I'm a first year medical student with fairly limited knowledge of the various physiological interactions between the endocrine and nervous systems.

Rationalizing through biology is pretty hard for a subjective experience. It kind of reminds me of the "tunnel of light" nde that isn't fully understood either.

I think some psychedelics come in waves, but some are constantly intense. The tryptamines that I've tried do come in waves, and sort of with lsd too. But the 2Cs and DOPr were not. I'm sure this varies greatly on a larger scale.

You pose an interesting question though, and a thoughtful one. it requires speculation, which I don't feel like doing, so you can always research more and have at it. Or others can lend their voice to this too. :)

Everything vibrates, everything comes in waves. Psychedelics only open your eyes to what's happening around you. Nothing stays absolutely still. Even your thoughts vibrate but on a high enough frequency that you dont rly notice it unless your looking for it