• 🇬🇧󠁿 🇸🇪 🇿🇦 🇮🇪 🇬🇭 🇩🇪 🇪🇺
    European & African
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • EADD Moderators: axe battler | Pissed_and_messed

Why are Languages Taught SO SHITTILY in schools (UK)?

ChemicallyEnhanced

Bluelighter
Maybe not literally every school, but so far as I know, taking a Foreign Language is mandatory in UK High School. Which I actually think is great, speaking a second language is an excellent skill to have...but they do such a crap job teaching them. Almost nobody here (at least among native English speakers) can actually speak a second language, And I don't know anybody who can even speak passably or conversationally in a language they did at school.
Like, I did French for 5 years in high school and while mais oui je peux parler un peu de français, I've been teaching myself Spanish for seven months and can speak it WAY, WAY better.

It's sad because they obviously go about teaching it in all the wrong ways and it could be such an advantage to have.

i was in a very good private school for 5 years and even there, my actually french french teachers were shit. one of them didn't notice that me and this other girl hid in the cupboard for entire lessons.

but, they were way better than other schools from what i saw in college at a level. one girl in my class could conjugate aller (or more likely avoir now i'm thinking about it) - like you need to be able to to do all the tenses you're required to know to pass your gcse, which she presumably had to get to a level.

part of it i think is we start learning too late, imo it would be better to start in primary school while we still have those nuts abilities with languages.