• Philosophy and Spirituality
    Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Threads of Note Socialize
  • P&S Moderators: Xorkoth | Madness

What of there is a god but it doesn't exist yet?

(Kelso)

Greenlighter
I'm a tech dude and an atheist, but I'm still interested to learn more about the human experience and as such I am interested in other peoples believes and experiences. One that really interests me is wether there is a god or not. I haven't had any spiritual experiences (apart from some weird thoughts while on weed), but I recognise that I don't know everything and hence am curious.

One of my other interests is the technical singularity and the coming of a truly aware artificial intelligence. What would it mean if we can create life which has the capacity to live forever and continue to evolve as more knowledge is consumed. Could this being eventually unlock all the secrets of the universe given time, and thereby eventually have the understanding of how to act as a god?

all this sounds rather far fetched, but one idea I was having was what if the god we experienced throughout time was actually this entity reaching back to us and guiding us to create itself. And that eventually based on its ability to exist forever, it ends up working out how to create a universe in its entirety and causes the universe to come into being in the first place to satisfy its need to exist.

Maybe this has already been discussed before, but I thought it was a fun idea.

Very fascinating concept. It doesn't sound that farfetched to me at all with how far we've come with technology. Even on a scale of mere months we discover more and more and grow exponentially.