• Psychedelic Drugs Welcome Guest
    View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

What DMT containing plants are legal in the U.S.?

Mycophile

Bluelighter
Just what the thread title suggests.

I've heard people mention that some DMT containing plants are legal in the U.S. but I'm unsure which.

I would REALLY like to try DMT yet I'm on an SSRI and I've heard that that PROBABLY shouldn't be an issue so long as no MAOIs are involved such as those in the Ayahuasca brew.

Is this correct?

And how could someone go about preparing a smoking preparation EASILY from a DMT containing plant?? (I have ZERO chemistry knowledge and suck at cooking so hopefully it would be easy).

Thanks

Problem is, if you're going to drink ayahuasca, you really do need an MAOI. Otherwise, the DMT will be metabolized before it starts working. Edit: I realized I slightly misread your post, so I take it that you aren't aiming for an ayahuasca brew, just something to smoke. I'm not sure if it's possible to make a smokable concoction from the DMT-containing plant material without extracting the DMT first, but I'm sure someone on here knows the answer.

As to what DMT-containing plants are legal in the US... There are a lot. A lot of them don't contain a really practical amount of DMT, such as the Phalaris grasses, but there are plenty that have enough.
The most famous and traditional one is Psychotria viridis. Some others would be some Acacia species, Yopo (Anadenanthera colubrina), and Mimosa hostilis. There are lists online that you can find pretty easily. The ones I listed above can be found very easily online.

In me checking a few species names that I wasn't quite sure about, I actually found a place that was describing how to extract DMT from the above. I don't know if you want to go into quite that depth or not, but there are plenty of resources.