• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids What causes opiate hangovers?

Sanpaku

Greenlighter
This is a question for everyone, but I would love for some of the more science-minded among us to chime in. I'm asking this question out of general curiosity, but I will include my own experience as a reference. I have been using opiates for about six years, all kinds from pills to Heroin, and have been through years of heavy addiction and years of lighter chipping. During the times when my use is not so heavy, I often suffer from bad hangovers the next day. It seems that these hangovers are worse for me than for some of my friends.

What causes opiate hangovers? It doesn't seem to be dehydration a la Alcohol. I have heard people say that it is a consequence of doing too much, like a mini-overdose, but this doesn't make sense to me, as the consequence of a real overdose is a cessation of breathing, not headaches, nausea, etc. Nor are the amounts that cause them that high. I can get a hangover from what is, for my experience and tolerance anyway, a very small amount.

As I understand it, opiates are not toxic to the body, so what causes the sometimes toxic after effects?

Any ideas?

Id also like to know what this is about. People have tried telling me that its dope sickness, but theres no way that it can be, cuz it still happens only after one use. The hangover.

The headaches are likely caused by the fact that opioids can increase intracranial pressure. This is one reason why they are given only as a last resort for migraines, because the likelihood of a 'rebound headache' is pretty high w/ opioids.

I hate those rebound headaches, they are the type that even more opiates cant cure it seems to me.