• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Visible Damage or Powder in Nose

chronicpain47

Greenlighter
Though I read the rules, I'm not entirely sure if this is the best place for this question but since I'm asking about more than one drug though, I hope it is. My apologies in advance if it is not.

I snort ER opiates and an ambien every day. I've been snorting the opiate for maybe 10 months and the ambien for 2 months, maybe a little longer.

Though I am an addict, I actually started not to get high but to simply better treat my pain and insomnia. As you might've guessed from my username, I suffer from chronic pain and it is very severe. My pain management doctor didn't like how long I'd been on an IR opiate, so he switched me from a very effective IR opiate to an ER opiate that gave me no noticeable pain relief. I had read that snorting it was more effective, and that other pain patients had turned to that. I did not want to do this but I was once again in so much pain that I could not function, so I was desperate.

It does not hurt at all to snort and doesn't seem to be causing me any problems yet.

As for the ambien, I was prescribed this to combat the severe insomnia side effect of a high dose of steroid that I take for another illness. Everyone who's ever taken ambien will know that it can have bad side effects if it kicks in while you're not in bed, and that the onset time is so sporadic that either you take it at bed and risk it not kicking in for up to 4 hours(in my experience, though usually the longest is closer to 2 hours) or you take it early and then risk the aforementioned side effects.