• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Useful Cheapskate / DIY Tricks

Bob Loblaw

Bluelight Crew
Well today I was thinking there must be a way to get something like Febreze made with household items. So I searched and found some.

This is the place for any advice you have for things like that. Like using club soda to get red wine out of carpet or a bunch of posts found on Lifehacker. I'm now out of examples because I'm a noob & exhausted. Have fun.

Recipe #1:
  1. Insert a funnel into the top of a 32 oz. spray bottle (I just use an old Febreze spray bottle).
  2. Pour 1/8 cup of your favorite fabric softener into your spray bottle. I prefer Downy, but you can even use the cheap dollar store stuff if you are feeling especially frugal (or cheapskatey).
  3. Add 2 tablespoons of baking soda to the bottle.
  4. Fill the rest of the bottle with water.
  5. Replace the cap and shake the bottle well.

Recipe #2:
  1. Fill a spray bottle with hot water. Leave an inch or so clearance at the top to allow room for the rest of the ingredients.
  2. Add 2 tablespoons of rubbing alcohol.
  3. Pour in 2 tablespoons of Purex crystals.
  4. Cap the bottle and shake it up until the crystals dissolve. Because this took a little while, I had my daughter get into the action. She bonked herself on the head a few times but managed to have fun anyway.

Recipe #3:
  1. Using a funnel, pour 2 tablespoons of fabric softener into the bottle.
  2. Add 2 tablespoons of white vinegar (which is super-cheap at almost every grocery store).
  3. Remove the funnel and add six to ten drops of your favorite extract (like almond or vanilla extract) or an essential oil. I love the smell of lavender, so I use the lavender essential oils that only cost $5 at my local Walmart.
  4. Fill the rest of your bottle with water.
  5. Shake until well combined.

http://thekrazycouponlady.com/at-home/3-ways-to-make-homemade-febreze/

i lived with these venezuelans and they washed-up and re-used their zip-lock lunch bags