View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Tripping when 20.

Kaneh Bosm

Bluelighter
I heard a lot of psychonauts advise that you should wait until you are in your twenties to trip. I always brushed this off but I am only a few months from my 20th birthday and I still have not tripped. Sure I experimented with cannabis, alcohol and various legal highs but as far as a full scale psychedelic experience I have not had one. I always wanted too and I never thought I would wait until I was twenty but I guess I did.

So what I ask is what should I prepare mentally, physically etc. Should I do it soon after I turn twenty or a couple of years after? Should I do it with friends or solo? Also should I do a legal high like morning glory (which I have had limited experience with) or just man up and get some shrooms or cid. Should I start with a semi-psychedelic like MDMA first? (Which would be really easy for me to get.) I have been offered everything from E to shrooms the moment I stepped foot in high school, never anticipated that my 20th birthday would be so close around the corner.

Honestly, when it comes to drugs, age has nothing to do with your physical time on this planet. its all about mental maturity.

I say you are old enough the minute you are ready to take the steps to use a drug responsibly. In other words, no dumbass kids that dont measure things out, or drive while high, or mix things without reading up.

I think MDMA might be a nice launching point since its as you say semi-psych. But at the same time its easy to just pick something. Find something not too intense. Shrooms may be a bit much for a first go, but some people loved it.

Dont let society tell you when you are ready, tell yourself. Soon as you are comfortable with the idea of opening up your mind, go seek something out.