Mental Health Therapy causes problems?

Red Moon

Bluelighter
How long does it take for therapy to start having positive effects when you're giving it your all? I'm still trying the stupid CBT and acceptance or whatever therapy every day. The only thing I've stopped is meditation/mindfulness because that brings on panic attacks inevitably at this point and I do not have the appropriate meds to end those. I've been doing therapy for nearly five months and I like my therapist; she is so kind and willing to try other things. But I can't help but feel like every time I go there I drag up problems that I'd gotten over by that point with my own coping skills.

I tried to see a psychiatrist to get benzos to be used as needed if I have a panic attack or extremely high levels of anxiety (IE I was NOT intending to take these things 24/7, I know how dangerous they are). But he esepcially told me I might as well be drinking a shot of vodka instead and the only other choices he gave me is SSRIs/SNRIs (I have had such a bad experience on them that I wouldn't touch them again if you paid me a million dollars), hydroxyzine (basically an even worse version of benadryl which already makes me lose any ability to DO anything, even the next day). I asked him about Lyrica, he told me it was a pain med (?????) and suggested gapapentin, which I actually thought was for restless legs and nerve pain. I've tried it and it's caused some very worrisome side effects even at the low does he's prescribed and I really don't think I should continue to take it.