• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Switching to Lyrica, have some questions

xyz_andrew

Greenlighter
This is my first time posting here and really on this site. To give you some background I was prescribed Gabapentin but needed to stop taking it as it gave me terrible stomach problems. At one point I was taking 2400 mg/day. I last took Gabapentin in January and built up tolerance to it, thus the need to take more of the dose.

I was switched to Xanax but it doesn't produce the same result, and I need something like Gabapentin for my social anxiety as it worked very well. My doctor warned of the weight gain that can come with Lyrica and I'm worried about that because I just worked my butt off to lose some weight.

I'm also wondering about my tolerance from the Gabapentin, will that have any effect when I start taking the Lyrica? To start, I was prescribed 50mg 3x/day.

Lyrica is pregabs right? I'm not an expert in this field but I think that there is cross tolerance with gabapentin.
Going from 2400mg gaba to 150mg pregab seems silly and possibly dangerous? Silly doctor imo.

Yes Lyrica is pregabalin. I last took gabapentin in January of this year, I'm not currently on gabapentin, I'm switching from Xanax.

Yes Lyrica is pregabalin. I last took gabapentin in January of this year, I'm not currently on gabapentin, I'm switching from Xanax.
Ah sorry I misunderstood.
I don't know about the weight gain.
As for tolerance to the gabas, it will have dropped since January, probably not to zero, but quite a bit I would imagine.
How much Xanax are you on?

I’m on 1mg extended release per day of the Xanax.