• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Suddenly extremely sensitive to caffeine

George1012

Bluelighter
Good day to all. I have been a veteran caffeine consumer for years, multiple cups of coffee, energy drinks, caffeine gum and it hardly phased me. These were just nice pick-ups with flavor. Now I seem completely unable to handle any caffeine. A few short stories,

The other day I went to the local gas station like I usually used to every morning. I dispensed myself a 16oz cup of the mildest brew. After I drank it I was extremely jittery all day and anxious. I had restless leg syndrome, in my arms and legs. I chalked this up to the fact that the dispenser had just a little left, that this was the most 'concentrated' bottom of the barrel thing. Usually this gas station has weak sauce coffee so I didn't think much of it after.

Drank half a cold brew from starbucks this morning. This was much worse. Heated it in the microwave and added cream and sugar, drank it and 15 mins after finishing I became extremely lightheaded and a bit disoriented, like I was going to black out. I quickly drank a few cups of water and took some magnesium and it helped a little so I ate a bunch of food in hopes of counteracting the 'OD'. How can I once again enjoy this without these problems? Or does this happen with age?

Do you use sugar and drink your coffee on an empty stomach? I notice that I feel similar from this mocha coffee I get and sometimes makes me shaky if I don't eat. It might be a blood sugar issue. You could try having some breakfast beforehand. You could also switch to decaf to avoid the jitters.