L O V E +
    R E L A T I O N S H I P S

❤️ Welcome Guest! ❤️

Posting Guidelines Bluelight Rules
  • SLR Moderators: axe battler | xtcgrrrl | arrall

Successful job leading to loneliness and detachment from family/friends

mribas1981

Greenlighter
First, wow! I used to post in bluelight like 10 years ago, frequently. I think I had like 5,000 posts on my old username. Very glad to see ya'll are still around. There was a moderator in here named.. Strawberry Lovemuffin I think? She was great. would be awesome to see if she is still around.

Anyways, I'm back because I have been feeling a little bummed out.

I landed a phenomenal job... One that uses my intellect, my personality, my degree, and my experience. Biochemistry Research Consultant. I absolutely adore my job. I've been doing it for about 2 years now.

Problem is, I travel incessantly. Usually 2-3 weeks every month. Since I began the job, I realized that it is nearly impossible to sustain interpersonal relationships with people that are very close to me. I see on facebook all my friends doing things together, bonding, and spending a bunch of time together. It used to be me that was the cohesive force among everyone. I always got the invites, if I wasn't the one doing the inviting. Now, I don't even hear about what's going on unless I call or text some of my friends, and even then it's like "oh sure, come along if you can."

I even feel detached from my family. I go to my parents house and it's like I'm just kinda... there. Everyone talks about what is going on in town, and with everyone else; and I'm reduced to superficial conversations about what I do on the road. I can't exactly talk about my work because some of what i deal with is proprietary or privileged information, and even when it's not, the shit is so technical that people are like "umh... what?" lol.