• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

sublingual bioavailability of melatonin

thesomoan

Bluelighter
Pretty much as the title says, what is the sublingual bioavailability of melatonin? is it significantly better than oral, and is there any scientific backing for melatonin supplements?

From what I've read the sublingual BA is higher than oral BA for melatonin, but have been unable to find any numbers.

Presumably, higher bioavailability / faster onset of action.

IME, it's A LOT more bioavailable. An eighth of a pill under the tounge feels like the full (3 mg) pill eaten.

That's probably true.

Still, melatonin is hardly the most sound supplement. It's efficacy seems to be backed by research, but whatever benefit it gives is pretty minor. Ramelteon, which I have some experience with, seems significantly more effective, but it's still a worthless sleep aid, IMHO.

I'm interested in how effective they might be at resetting the sleep disturbances from mania though.

edit: small sample, but PMID: 2086173 says no benefit.

I have experience with sublingual melatonin. I does work faster but i am not sure if the bioavailability increases.

//blazR

@Hammilton

Melatonin works very well for people with circadian rhythm sleep disorders. For regular insomnia it is pretty damn worthless.

Melatonin works wonders for my delayed sleep phase disorder.

yup, melatonin works great for me when my circadian rhythm gets jacked up... i.e. last week i got black out drunk one night, then pulled an all nighter the next night... the third night i had a hard time falling asleep, then i took melatonin (3mg sublingual btw :) ), and sleep came pretty easily afterwards.

I take 3-6 mg every night.. I have been trying it sublingually and it does seem to work better. I don't know if it's more effective though.