• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Something fellow addicts can relate to

Indefined

Greenlighter
So first of all, with this being my first post I'd like to say that I have been coming to blue light for a few years now and think this community is amazing. I've learned so much here and have seen how helpful people are on this site. I am extremely appreciative of what I've learned here.

So what I would like to do now is talk about my recently kicked heroin habit and what helped me get through it. I was IVing about .7 grams a day and had my last shot about a week ago. This is the third time getting off an opiate, first time was heroin, second was suboxone after heroin and this time just heroin cold turkey. This time I was taking the most before getting off but it was a less painful experience because of a couple things. Everyone has their own remedies for withdrawal and I've read a ton of them on here. But here is what helped me get through it:

-showers (I think this goes for everyone)
-chlonodine. The first 2 times getting off I didn't want to take anything after stopping the dope because I didn't want to get hooked on anything else but what I didn't understand was HOW IMPORTANT SLEEP IS FOR GETTING OVER WITHDRAWAL. That is when those neurotransmitters that are low get to replenish. Chlonodine lowered my blood pressure and allowed my legs to stop moving and let me sleep
-Xanax. Again, I didn't want to have to but for the sleep, I took 1.5mg the first 3 days so I COULD SLEEP. Waking up the third day I honestly felt normal for a couple hours and then later in the day the withdrawal symptoms came back.