• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

So I quit smoking by accident.

SunriseChampion

Bluelighter
Two weeks ago, I went on a bit of an alcohol bender with a mate who turned 40 that week. It was match day, we went out and didn't come back for two days of pubs (our boys won 5:1 a.e.t!).
Woke up Monday feeling like complete shite.
Me and my friends aren't alcoholics, but when we drink, we drink everything. Tolerances super high, never get denied service at a pub, even after having drank for 12 hours or whatever. Brutal alcohol binge drinking. My hangovers have been ridiculous the last few years (I'm 34).
I've been smoking for 15 years. Started off smoking 4-6 a day, a year later up to 20 a day, down to about 15 a few years ago, and most recently 5ish last winter and up to 10-13 a day most recently. However, in the last year or so I've found I don't want a smoke when hungover.

I had been thinking about quitting in the last few months, by cutting down drastically, and eventually only smoking once or twice a week.
So that Monday, when I woke up at noon feeling like a bag of pissed-on dirt, I really didn't want a smoke.
Still felt like shite the next day and still didn't feel like smoking.
By day 3 I had decided that I would stubbornly go on not smoking.

At first this vexed me immensely as I had not at any point decided that that Sunday I would have my last smoke. To make it worse, I bought a pack on my way hom after pub number 3 on Sunday at midnight and had one smoke when I got home before going to bed. This was two weeks ago today. I still have that pack and carry it in my work lunch bag ( I work full time). I think I wiped my brain clean with that last binge, though I had also started making low dose (not micro dose) mushroom tea in the las two months and drinking that fairly regularly. Had some on the first night of the last binge. Wondering if that had some effect on wiping my addicted mind clean of the nicotine.