• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Detox Retiring from heroin

Felonious Monk

Bluelight Crew
Today is day 7 without heroin. Yes, real heroin, I've been sourcing self-tested fent-free quality product since at least 2016. Before that I was on oxy PM, so I've basically been on daily opiates since late 2013, and occasional before then for some time.

I've finally gotten to a place in my life where I'm ready to put down opiates. I finally have enough meaning in my life that I don't need that crutch. I know that's what heroin was, a literal crutch to make life livable. Well I found a life I can lead so I'm ready to try life without heroin.

I don't know else there is. I don't have as much support as I'd like, since my habit was an absolute secret from everyone IRL. I never liked NA meetings much either but I live in a city so maybe I'll try one, not many in my neighborhood tho.

Guess I just wanted to start a thread here and say what's up. I've been on BL a long time, used to mod DC.

edit: I suppose I should mention--heroin only. Been supporting my sobriety with Ativan, Phenobarb, Gabapentin, and coke.

...I don't have as much support as I'd like, since my habit was an absolute secret from everyone IRL. I never liked NA meetings much either but I live in a city so maybe I'll try one, not many in my neighborhood tho....
I'm not a big fan of 12-Step programs but I used to attend meetings regularly. What I do like about AA/NA is the camaraderie-- I enjoy socializing with other alcoholics and drug addicts in recovery.

Not all meetings are the same. I'd suggest that you check out a few different groups to see if there's one that appeals to you. There are also online meetings. Drunks and junkies are some of the most wonderful people in the world when they're not fucked up.

Best wishes on your journey!

Well done on 7 Days, Are the other substances a problem or you just using them for H detox