Relapse Problems - Any Advice Would be Incredible Helpful

WobblyWagon

Greenlighter
Hello All,

I'm new to bluelight but have been reading the forums here for years. I love the community and the posts in the forums have kept me out of trouble more than twice.

Here's the problem. I have a long history of substance abuse; going on 12 years now. During that time I have always managed to keep my head above water and stay out of trouble. It wasn't until about 3 years ago that I started using powerful narcotics on the regular, which became very expensive and became quite detrimental to my health. Over this 3 year period, I have successfully kicked the habit three times, only to relapse several months later after my brain started functioning normally again.

I've seen several different therapists but it hasn't helped one bit. From a very early age, every time I succeeded in something, I would always reward myself by getting high and partying. The better I feel about myself, the more dark thoughts begin to creep into my head. "Well I'm doing so well now, one bag won't set me back that far back!" - Ya we've all been there. The truth of the matter is that I have to find a different way of rewarding myself for good healthy behavior. I've only recently come the conclusion that alcohol is something that significantly reduces my will power. But what am I supposed to do? Never drink again?