View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Miscellaneous Psychedelics as anti dissociatives

Freeotrope

Bluelighter
First I have very little experience with the dissociative drug class and don't know what those experiences are like. I am referring to my experience and knowledge of trauma related dissociation, and my observations of something similar in the general population in America. I hope my use of the word dissociation isn't confusing or misleading.

I think it is common for people to learn to avoid and suppress aspects of their direct experience, for example fear. By focusing on a conceptual model of the world and ignoring the sensations of fear in our bodies, we can sort of pretend like we don't feel the fear. The exact things that people dissociate from may vary from person to person. Sometimes we are socialized to be a certain way at a young age and dissociate from parts of us that don't fit with that socialization. We can ignore this in the conceptual model, we can conceptualize ourselves to fit with the social expectations, but we can't stop the feelings or impulses or direct experience in the body/emotions.