• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Pregabalin (lyrica)

Endopharm

Bluelighter
After using clonazepam (klonopin) at 2-3mg per day for 10 years, for generalized anxiety disorder, I'm about to switch over to pregabalin

What should I expect during the first doses?

It's rather low, 3 weeks at 25mg 3x per day, then 3 weeks at 50mg 3x per day, then 75mg 3x per day.

I'm always hesitant to start new meds and being a scientist, I'll research the heck out of them and search for experiences (also have high functioning aspergers)

Thanks in advance for anything you can share!

Endo

I'd say the doc is overly cautious, specially when you switch from benzos after so long time you could profit of nearly 10x the dose, I personally started with 300mg, depending on your tolerance you might get a little drunken. A compromise would be 150mg. Unfortunately there's afaik no "prescription guide" stating the recommended dosages.

You could also cross-switch, taper the klonopin and during the same time titrate the pregab. Then the required doses are lower, 75mg should already potentiate.

Note that this is just my 2 cents and I'm no doctor (yet)

I'm down to 1mg of clonazepam now, I like your idea and thats probably exactly what my GP was thinking.

I have work this week so perhaps I'll wait until the weekend to try this where I'm in a more comfortable setting.

To be honest, I understand titration up, but in my research I thought the dose was so low I possibly wouldn't feel anything, but if that's the case and it was still anxiolytic, I'd be happy with that.

I'm just trying to function at my best and not abuse, and really want to know what to expect.