• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Oxycodone Metabolized To Oxymorphone?

This prolly a stupid question, but I think 7-oh is an oxidation of mit ? Could just leaving it out in the air for a while make that change, or maybe soaking in hydrogen peroxide, obviously I have no real knowledge of chemistry just enough to make extracts

There are a few structural characteristics which define whether a morphinian is going to be (significantly) active by itself or not. in the case of oxycodone it's due to having a carbonyl group at C6 + a simple (saturated) bond between C7-C8 + a hydroxy group at C14 (codeine has neither of those things). All of which seem to increase activity in a very big way.

So a "blocked" hydroxy group (phenol) at carbon n°3 doesn't automatically kill the activity, it just decreases it. But it does have a pretty big advantage as well: it usually makes the drug more orally bioavailable.
This may be one of the reasons why doctors tend to prefer codeine, hydrocodone and oxycodone over morphine, hydromorphone and oxymorphone (but it's mostly due to the fact that they're perceived as being less "abusable").
In the case of heroin, the acetyl group does "block" the phenol as well, which actually makes the drug almost completely inactive (but also more lipophilic). However, that particular ester group gets broken down very quickly upon entering the body, so heroin ends up being a very effective pro-drug for 6-monoacetylmorphine which is a potent opioid.

I made a quick summary of the main structural things that tend to modulate the opioid-like activity of those drugs. Obviously it isn't 100% complete and there are exceptions.
Green= increases activity