View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Olney's Lesions - An Examination of the Article

Cokeboy

Bluelighter
Every now and then, somebody brings up the spectre of "Olney's Lesions". Invariably they are referring to the article "This is Your Brain on Dissociatives: The Bad News Is Finally In".
The article can be found here:here
The article is poorly written, unscientific, occasionally erroneous, and completely discardable.
I've been studying the brain for several years now
Note that William White is not claiming to be a doctor, nor does he offer any qualifications of any kind. The quote above is from "Why I'm Telling You This: My Background". Well, I've been studying moon missions for several years now. Does that make me an astronaut?
However, several things have happened recently which have led me to conclude that Olney's lesions apply to humans at recreational doses. First, I've received reports from many hundreds of users of DXM, some of whom have used it heavily and been clearly harmed.
User-submitted reports, no control group, no measurements, no studies, no way of telling if these are poly-drug users - if this were a trial it'd be laughed out of court.
Third, reports of ketamine-related brain damage have started to show up.
From where? E-mail?
Nobody has ever seen Olney's lesions in a human brain.
At last - a germ of reality.
Read the article in it's entirety, with a critical eye. He loses me at several points in the science (I'm not a doctor, but I don't pretend to be), but the article makes unsubstantiated leaps, and uses false logic - and has the audacity to call itself "The Bad News Is Finally In" - as if there are definite answers contained inside.
Finally, Dr. Karl Jansen had this to say when asked about this very article: