• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Naloxone (Narcan) pros and cons

Itachi1990

Greenlighter
Hello,

I am a college student doing a project to determine whether or not making Naloxone (Narcan) available to prevent opioid overdose encourages users to keep using. I would like your perspective.

If Myself or any other addict had the choice to do dope with or without Narcan being available, I could care less about the Narcan being available...I’d still do the dope, so there’s no encouraging factor. The fact is people are going to use just the same with or without Narcan, it’s only 100 percent benefit that more lives will have the chance to be saved and then get into recovery.

I am an ex-heroin addict and have been rescued by narcan twice.

There is no evidence that I'm aware of (and this is area that I deal with in my work) that the availability of naloxone causes people to keep using. The idea that providing naloxone is somehow 'enabling' is cruel and misguided. It only makes sense in the context of a a belief that addiction is a moral failing that people must somehow rise above to redeem themselves. Would anyone withhold medication to diabetics because it might encourage them to eat poorly and live unhealthily? Very few people are that short-sighted and cruel.

Naloxone availability has the potential to mitigate the public health crisis that opioid use has become in the US.

I've been Narcan'd once. I foolishly took 800mg of Oxy in a 12 hour period and then my kidney's failed. Although coincidentally, the kidney failure was unrelated. Anyway, I'm sure they gave me 2 shots of Naloxone - one of the worst experiences of my life.