• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Mutagenicity of carbamate sedatives

Synaps3

Bluelighter
I am a chemist and I am interested in synthesizing some carbamate sedatives (possibly related to meprobamate, phenprobamate, etc.). The problem I'm facing is that I know about the mutegenicity of ethyl carbamate and vinyl carbamate (it's metabolite) and I can find plenty of research articles discussing it. However, what I can't seem to find is what exact changes in the molecule make something like meprobamate virtually non toxic and ethyl carbamate, very toxic. Based on my research, I've come to the conclusion that the mutagenicity of ethyl carbamate primarily has to do with its metabolite, vinyl carbamate. If you make sure the first carbon after the urea's oxygen is fully unsaturated (maybe that's not the right word; I mean all four bonds of the carbon are used), then when it gets metabolized it can't possibly vinylize.

That's my theory. I'd really appreciate some in depth information on this. It's the only thing that's preventing me from proceeding. Thanks.

First of all, it doesn't seem like ethyl carbamate is all that toxic. Secondly, you're on the right track to the most likely answer: meprobamate doesn't have a vicinal hydrogen relative to the -oxy group on the ethyl fragment. As such, it can't be dehydrogenated to yield an unsaturated compound (which in turn could be metabolized into an epoxide).

Just for clarification, unsaturation means the presence of carbon-carbon double or triple bonds. If you want to stress that a particular carbon has no hydrogens attached to it, you can say "quaternary carbon" which would be less confusing.