• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Opioids Methadone vs. Oxycodone

FutureReference

Bluelighter
Hey all,

The Oxycodone supply near me is limited and each month a few days I must go without until the pharmacy finally gets their delivery. I was on Bupe for pain for years to no avail. Methadone has been recommended by my doctor but it is ultimately my decision. Due to laws, my dosage of Oxycodone is only 40mg (10mg x 4) daily. The Methadone would be the take home tablets and not at a clinic, but I have zero experience with it.

I am leaning toward staying on the Oxycodone and being bumped up to 60MG which is the maximum allowed here but am wondering for those who have experience with both; is Methadone better for the treatment of chronic pain? The Oxy works better than Fentanyl did but the dosage limit is just making me consider Methadone even though I do not think ultimately it is a smart move. Thanks in advance

Can't your doctor give you a trial period? like let you try the methadone for a week and if it's not working you could switch back

methadone may be a good option because it has a good long half-life so you will not have to take your meds 4 times a day, just plan out a good dose with the doctor so you won't raise your tolerance.

i've used these only recreationally, not for pain, so my input is limited to that. the thing is you could return to the oxy and raise it if it's not working.

what were the arguments of your doc for the change?