• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Bupe Methadone to Bupe patches?

ChaosControl

Greenlighter
I ran out of my prescribed methadone about a week early. However, I have a Buprenorphine Transdermal System patch. I’ve never used or seen one of these patches before. My daily methadone dose is 20mg (although I often do 30mg). This bupe patch says it delivers 10mch/hour of buprenorphine for 7 days. Will that be too strong compared to my methadone tolerance? Whats the conversion here?
Thanks!

I’ve never used these patches but I’m fairly certain that if you put it on before you’re in serious methadone withdrawal that it will precipitate a hellish experience. I know this would apply to pills/strips. Methadone has a very long half life and builds in your system extensively, hopefully someone more experienced in these specific circumstances will chime in and until then I suggest you wait. Precipitated withdrawal is one of the worst experiences a person could have. Much worse than dealing with normal withdrawal for a day or two, might seem like that’s far fetched but I have been thru it from bupe dosed too close to morphine/oxy/ect and those clear the system much faster than methadone.

I ran out of my prescribed methadone about a week early. However, I have a Buprenorphine Transdermal System patch. I’ve never used or seen one of these patches before. My daily methadone dose is 20mg (although I often do 30mg). This bupe patch says it delivers 10mch/hour of buprenorphine for 7 days. Will that be too strong compared to my methadone tolerance? Whats the conversion here?
Thanks!