• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Methadone - go higher or stay at the moderate dose of 80 mg per day? + 2 other questions

Båtmannen

Bluelighter
Hello,

I'm ont 80 mg of methadone per day now, since like a month, after being on 16-24 mg buprenorphine per day for years.

I get a buzz every day when I take my methadone. This is partly because I'm new to it (I haven't been on 80 mg since day 1 - they tapered up (can you say that?) slowly) and partly becauset the dose is low enough to decrease to low levels after 24 hours, and because of the drastic change in blood plasma level, I get a buzz.My best friend has 120 mg, and while he still feels "something" every day, he says he felt more at 70-80 because back then he was starting to get a little sick after 24 hours when he got his new dose, i e 80 mg didn't cover the whole day and therefore he felt it every morning and for some hours.

And to those who are going to tell me that I shouldn't feel anything: uh, ok, sure, but if me feeling some kind of opiate buzz keeps me away from heroin, then it's good for me, right? I was on bupe for a long time and rarely felt anything, and that didn't go well. And as methadone is a full agonist... it should be almost impossible to feel absolutely nothing when you take a dose of 110, if you've been without for 24 hours.

I feel no, or very little, euphoria though. It's not a real opiate buzz, I just get that heavy feeling in my head and get a bit energic, and feel a bit sick

1. Is it true that I will feel less and less if my dose increases? Before I started I wanted to go to 200+ (although now my clinic has 150 mg as the maximum dose). Is the goal of the treatment that I should feel nothing at all?