• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Meth - New - weird or normal effects?

SteveS505

Greenlighter
I am brand new here and very new to drug use. I appreciate your help and patience as I figure out how to navigate this site, which seems great but a little confusing.

My question is regarding meth use.

Basically - I can be prone to anxiety / panic attacks. What I’m finding is two things.

Again - I’m brand new to this. Less than a year. When I smoke - my heart rate really goes up. Sometimes I measure it with a small oximeter I keep with me. I can be up in the 130s, even 140s. Now, that could be the meth, or, you could argue that it’s my anxiety and the fact that I keep checking it that’s keeping it high. But - does anyone else have this? Is this dangerous? It can stay high like that for hours.

Second, when I’m coming DOWN, for about 8-12 hours, I can feel my heart beating / pounding in my chest. There’s no real pain, but I’m super jittery / jumpy and I literally feel my heart beating - again - this is especially when I’m coming down.

I VERY MUCH enjoy smoking meth, and I seem to be able to do it without becoming highly addicted. I can do it just like once or twice a month.

But I’m a worrier - and I’m worried about these symptoms.

I’m 55, in reasonably good health, slightly high blood pressure (but just slightly high and that’s controlled with a daily pill), and I had a full cardio work-up a year ago (stress test, etc) and my heart was in good shape.

Is this just my stress / anxiety? Is this normal? Or do I have some allergy / strange / unique adverse reaction to meth that I need to just basically decide not to do it?