• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Misc Lyrica VS gabapentin one question

soundsystem00

Bluelighter
I know there's prolly a megathread or something else but I am a BL veteran and just want one simple answer.

I have been taking 800mg gabapentin for three years. Three times a day. The doc gave me lyrica 100mg twice a day. I know lyrica is "stronger" than gabapentin, but there is no way that is even CLOSE to the dose of 800mg 3x gabapentin. No way.

I heard that 100mg lyrica is equal to 900mg gabepentin? That is a 3x stronger? Ive also heard that its 2x stronger..

a recreational dose of gabapentin is usually 1400mg or so. How much lyrica would that be?

Thanks guys. Big ups. I havent posted in OD in years. Hope all is well.

-ss

I read that Lyrica is 2.4x the strength of gabapentin. Wikipedia says Lyrica/pregabalin is 2-4x more potent as an analgesic then gabapentin. It also says Lyrica/pregabalin is 6 times more potent then gabapentin in binding affinity.

I have taken both drugs. Soundsystem you are underdosed on the Lyrica/ pregabalin. I personally take 150mg of Lyrica/pregabalin 3x day.

The tolerance comes from its high binding affinity.

To whomever is taking the gabapentin, the higher the dose, the less is absorbed. If I had 800 mg pills, I would break them in half at the minimum and take say 300mg to 400 mg (lower the better) every hour till you reach the level you want to be at. Staggering the gabapentin dose will get more into your system. I used to stagger 300mg pillls at the rate of 300 mg an hour. I was good by the 4th hour.

Soundsystem, you are underdosed. You can take both at once or stagger the Lyrica by an hour. The effects will last longer.