• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids long term opiate use for legitimate chronic pain?

mc17473

Greenlighter
ive been using a combo of IR and ER oxycodone for nearly 2 years now, and i've had chronic pain for roughly 6-7 years, the last 2-3 years getting way worse. had surgery on my neck in 2014 (made issues WAY worse), then another corrective in late 2015 (seemed to help at first, but now ~9 months later it seems like it's back to how it was before unfortunately. i've pretty much just accepted this is how life is going to be. i'm not even 30 yet!

of course friends/family don't want me to take opiates, but i just don't know. i don't know if it's causing me additional pain when it starts wearing off before my next dose, or if it's just gotten worse on it's own. does anyone use opiates long term for what it's intended to be used for, and not at all to get high or anything? i also use Soma, mainly at night, to help me sleep, and it's a life saver because i so rarely get a good nights sleep.

i'm torn on if i should try and stop opiates all together and see how the pain is, or keep using. i personally like the ER better because it doesn't wear off NEARLY as fast as the IR.