• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Lingo terminology

TexUSA

Bluelighter
I'm a newbie & I'd like some clarification on some of the terminology I'm seeing. Not sure where to post this so please place it for me.

Some examples are:
BA
ROA
HR
(anything else you think of)...

Thanks. Peace.

BA would more than likely mean 'bioavailability', the amount of a substance, given by a given route of administration (such as my mouth, up the backside (plugged), injected intravenously, intramuscularly, subcutaneously etc). ROA is 'route of administration' BTW, and the BA is the proportion of that drug given by the route of administration which gets to act upon it's bodily intended target without first being destroyed by bodily metabolic processes.

HR-harm reduction.

Another few you might come across:

BBB-blood brain barrier (the fine network of very small, tight junctions between fine blood vessels which serves to separate the peripheral blood supply from the brain, and to bar access to a great many undesirable molecules which ought not to be soaking into our brain matter)

PNS-peripheral nervous system usually, sometimes parasympathetic nervous system, in context.

CNS-central nervous system; namely brain, spinal cord.

UTFSE (common on several sites) 'use the fucking search engine'

Thank you Limpet_Chicken for the GR8 information that I can use as reference. The UTFSE term made me chuckle a bit.

Will this thread stay in the Homeless Thread forum or be moved elsewhere?

(moving to BDD) There ought to be a link in the header at the top of the page called BDD Dictionary.