• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Lawyer or chemist

CymbalKid

Bluelighter
Hi i am a sophomore in high school and i wanted to ask people's opinions on what i should choose as a career. A chemist or lawyer. Both really interest me because i've always liked to argue and i like math and i am pretty good at it. Chemistry seems really interesting and so does being a lawyer. What are your opinions?

lawyer and chemist are both pretty high level descriptions of a job. what role do you see yourself having within each discipline?

alasdair

I've got a degree in chemistry and it's really hard to find a job here (Poland) that would let me live with due respect as I really worked hard to get a degree, it's not easy to study chemistry, it's a very difficult and demanding. The salary is like the minimum salary, i.e. ~1 500 PLN ≈ 284 £ ≈ 446 $ . Sure, it's Poland but I know of no job with a salary worth of 284 pounds a month in the UK.

I also was in the UK and I couldn't get a job there as a chemist either. It's kind of a weird situation as when I started studying chemistry, there was supposed to be a shortage of chemists.

Being a lawyer seems boring to me but if you've got contacts, you won't be poor and it seems all this world is about is money. That's why I started studying again and chose IT because this is going to be up-to-date any time. Though I'm at the age when I should rather think about settling somewhere, meeting a woman of my dreams, getting a job etc.