• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Kratom cause opiate withdrawal or no?

Hi TrapZepplin!

Reading through this thread, I just wanted to point out a few things as I’ve been using Kratom daily since 2013:

No, Kratom will not cause precipitated withdrawal like Suboxone does.
Yes, Kratom can be addictive and is known to cause withdrawl if you quit.
Some people successfully use Kratom to help get through Opiate withdrawals
As the above poster said, Kratom can be stimulating. Less is more sometimes with this substance. For me, personally, I can’t sleep if I use Kratom too close to bedtime (no matter what the strain). Similar to taking an oxy then trying to go to sleep.

I know you’re taking opiates for pain relief, but I just wanted to mention my experience with tolerance. Since becoming a daily Kratom user, I can tell you I literally can’t feel any type of buzz anymore with a regular opioid (although I haven’t tried large doses). I doubt I’ll ever feel that nice little buzz again. It’s gotta be from the Kratom usage since I never really messed with opioids except for post surgeries etc. so my tolerance has been affected for sure. I don’t know, however, if this means the therapeutic qualities of opiates has also gone down, or if the opiate buzz itself is just gone.

Just thought this was worth mentioning. Please let me know if you have any questions, I’m happy to help!