• Welcome Guest

Forum Guidelines Bluelight Rules
    Fun 💃 Threads Overdosed? Click
    D R U G   C U L T U R E

keep a heroin habit at bay

carlitobrigante

Greenlighter
so i had a 22 year heroin addiction that i eventually managed to kick. Threw myself into recovery, became a drugs worker etc etc

At 40 years old unfortunately it was made clear to me that i have severe emphysema, my lungs are shot to bits, and it wont be many years now until im on oxygen. Partly as a result I've long since reverted to occasional drug use.

I'm curious as to how long some people who were previously heroin addicts, and have relapsed, managed to keep a full blown habit at bay and avoid becoming physically dependent again

I've been dabbling with heroin again now for 4 years, and have managed (at times) by the skin of my teeth to avoid developing a full blown dependency and experiencing withdrawals. It has been bloody hard, and at times i have felt mild withdrawals but with enough experience it has been easy enough to grin and bear the mild withdrawals rather than cave in with the knowledge that another 1-2 days of using will give me what i would described as full bodied withdrawal symptoms.

I tend to do the obvious things such as not using on consecutive days. I can just about get away with using 2 days in a row but even then will feel uncomfortable on day 3. I also find it helps but buying relatively small amounts, and using it all in one sitting and not smoke it over a full day. If i am using on 2 x consecutive days, i always make sure even then that i leave a gap of 24 hours between uses.

I'm under no illusions that it will probably escalate into physical dependency sooner or later, but its surprised me that i've managed it for 4 years so far, Its surprising to me how well i've managed to continue for so long with this mantra of just avoiding a habit at all costs approach.