View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Is this San Pedro pup too tiny to root?

t_wrex

Bluelighter

I'm not sure how many people on this forum are into propagating San Pedro cuttings.... ?

Long story short, this pup broke off by accident from the base of a larger piece. I figured I might as well try to get it to root instead of just expending it. After breaking off, I let it sit in dry shade for about 2 weeks for the end to dry, then potted it. I let it set for about a week, then gave it a small amount of water. It's been inside in the window for about a week now.

Is this too short of a piece to bother with rooting? It is about 1.75 inches in length.....

I'm no expert but I believe there is no reason why that piece of cactus couldn't root. I would certainly give it a try. I wonder if rooting hormone would help it get going?

I've had experience with cacti of others species (non psychedelic ones) responding very well to plant hormones, specifically Indole Acetic Acid, Gibberellic Acid and Triachontanol.

Edit: Only came to my mind now, in my experience cacti will take a few days to react to hormones but will keep reacting for far long than say, cannabis plants.
Effects on the speed of growth I have observed were jaw dropping, the mass increase would be progressing at several times the normal speed, and a cacti that would give one flower once a year gave several flowers 3 times in 1 year!!!!

Last edited:
I’ve rooted cuttings that size. It’s not ideal but so long as you did everything right it’ll be fine. You wouldn’t want to go much smaller than that though.

Keep us updated! Don’t overwater..

I just nearly lost half my garden trying to adapt them to a new climate.. Some I’d had for 5+ years :/

-GC

I've had San Pedro that size survive and thrive so as G_Chem says - go easy on the water.