• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos I'm addicted to Alprazolam. Should I micro taper my dose or switch to Diazepam?

evo4ever

Bluelighter
Hello all.

I've been using Alprazolam for about 6 months at around 4mg a day. I've recently just switched to Clonazepam to try and taper off that instead due to it's longer half life compared to Alprazolam. With Clonazepam I can get roughly two days out of a single dose before withdrawals kick in. Alprazolam has a much shorter half life at around 6-12 hours which is a pain because you find your self dosing multiple times a day.

Should I stick to Clonazepam and make micro adjustments to my dose on a weekly basis or should I switch to Diazepam?

4mg of Clonazepam would equal to 80mg of Diazepam according to Ashton's equivalency chart. It would seem to be easier to use a taper plan with Diazepam rather than Clonazepam.

How do you think I should proceed? Help appreciated!

I went from xanax to kpin but I've heard people use valium also, I just don't have experience with it. If using kpin I would probably go down .5-1mg every 2 weeks or so. You can always adjust it if it's too much of a decrease. Also, I would suggest dosing daily and avoid going into withdrawal symptoms. You want to keep the medication at an even level in your system and titrate down slowly.

The problem with diazepam is that even though it has a really long half life the duration of action is normally much shorter. This is due to the fast redistribution of the diazepam from the brain into the periphery (mostly muscle and fat tissue).
So while it's easier to dose clonazepam might be superior in terms of duration. Imo you should stick to what you're currently doing

Btw, I'll move your thread over to OD :)