• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Heroin I'm a minority - not my race.

Codyyyy

Greenlighter
Im a rare minority. Ive been doing heroin for around three years. Well, in the time I've been doing it, i have never been physically addicted. So my question is, why do most people find it so hard to use recreationally instead of every day? Its not very hard to do it only once or twice a week. I understand if you started with like pills and got addicted on accident, but besides that there is no reasonable excuse in my opinion. Thoughts please?

It's not very hard for you to do it once or twice a week. Clearly others have trouble doing this. It can be as simple as impulse control because someone experienced a feeling and the thought of that feeling compels that person to feel it over and over and over again. Sometimes they almost get close to how it felt the first few times but it's never the same. All addicts were occasional users until they weren't, something happens in their lives that puts them under enormous stress and suddenly that thing they really enjoy doing once or twice a week becomes something they really enjoy doing every day of the week.

Well done on holding it together Codyyyy, don't turn your back on that drug. Take care

Nobody thinks they will wind up addicted but look at all the people who are. Heroin may just not be your thing, maybe you would have more trouble keeping the use of other drugs in check.

Heroin addicts are not weak or flawed, addiction is just that big of a mindfuck. I'm glad you haven't gotten hooked though and keep it up! Just don't ever shoot it.