I Relapsed - Need Encouraging Words Please

FairyWispers

Greenlighter
Hello. I'm a new poster. I've been a reader for quite a while. After many years as a pain pill addict I, like many others, fell into the cheaper and more accessible demon heroin. I've been snorting that for about 2 years. Crazy as I sound, I took pride in the fact that I didnt turn to the needle. (What a load of BS I fed myself!) Probably a 10 to 12 year active opiate addiction overall. I somehow managed to keep my life and career together but I'm miserable. I want off! I now have a legal script for Suboxone and that did help...for a little while.

The initial WD was HELL! The body aches and need to constantly move around in bed for 3 days before starting the subs was so bad that my elbows and knees were rubbed raw. Not only raw but a bloody mess from the tossing and turning. I cried and moaned and even screamed out. Just horrible. Thank God I didn't have access to a gun or I seriously may have ended my suffering. But I got through it.

But I was so very stupid. I caved and relapsed. For 2 days. I was just a couple of days shy of my 30 days heroin free. :( I lied to myself that I could handle it once in a while as long as I only kept my usage down to a day or 2. And the worst part is that I knew damn well I was lieing to myself and rationalizing (but I did it anyway.) I am so disappointed in myself. I am not out of money or anything like that - I just really want to stop the fall now before I lose ALL control and go on another multi-year bender. I feel like if I dont take back control now, I'll start a slide and this time I won't come back. And on the flip side Im terrified of the WD. And it's tempting to put that off until tomorrow or this weekend...or next week...or....well you see how the slope gets slippery!