• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

How to manage opioid induced cognitive / memory impairment

madskr1

Greenlighter
Hello

So I've been using opioids for years, I used Tramadol for 4 years, at which point I had another pain syndrome incur, which forced me to go on to something stronger, I have been using moprhine for 3 years now, with very good disipline, reducing dependance several times, with several attempts of withdraw from this. I have slowly come to realize that I cannot stop using opioids while I live with chronic pain, and therefor, I have decided to devout my time instead of managing the side effects.

The biggest concern I have is cognitive impairment, I feel that my short term memory has gotten worse after iniating morphine to my daily regimen, and this is been the primary reason for the motivation of stop using said drug. I would like to find a way to manage my memory problems if possible.

I have been reading up on a dopamine agonist called Bromocriptine, which binds to dopamine receptors, if this drug is administered befor taking an opioid, is superseeds the affinity, and certain side affects can be avoided, including libido reduction.

I also believe that nitric oxide particals may be released in the brain as a side effect of using opioids, and that B12 will bind to ntiric oxide and expel it to urine.

Appriciating suggestons on the matter, thanks.

With most addiction the dopamine system gets absolutely fucked.

Think of drugs as magic, and there is always a price to the use of magic.

First I would start with some basics, like eating complete meals and taking a multi-vitamin. Extra magnesium wouldn't hurt, along with Vitamin D, calcium (Tums would be a good idea) and B-vitamins.

Beyond this, you could use a variety of nootropics.

Uridine and CDP-Choline would help to bolster the dopamine system.

Memantine would help keep tolerance low and repeated use can boost cognition.