• MDMA &
    Empathogenic
    Drugs

Welcome Guest!
  • MDMA Moderators:

How quick does anyhdrous acetone become hydrous?

WombleC

Greenlighter
Hi,

I'm referring to Futura's MDMA acetone wash guide: http://www.bluelight.org/vb/threads/642313-MDMA-Ecstasy-The-Ultimate-Clean-Filter-Acetone-Wash-amp-Crystalization

(First section about adding anhyd. magnesium sulphate to the hardware store acetone)

My question: is it safe to add another 10g of anyhdrous magnesium sulphate to the anhydrous acetone and shake to be sure there isn't any water in my (supposedly) anyhdrous acetone if I've had it sitting in the fridge for a few weeks?

Or should I first remove the "old" anhyd. magnesium sulphate? Or just shake again? Can the old sulphate re-absorb the water?

Chemistry newbie here that can only follow simple instructions so all answers are appreciated! Thanks!

How much access to moisture did it have in the fridge? Was it in a sealed container?

How much access to moisture did it have in the fridge? Was it in a sealed container?

Yeah, in a jam jar. But I'm wondering if it has already absorbed water when I opened the jar to take some acetone for the first wash that I did.

Last edited:
The original magnesium sulfate would get hydrated (would form like the heptahydrate), then it is saturated and cannot really do much else.

If you were to add more fresh magnesium sulfate then that would still have capacity as a desiccant until that, too, becomes saturated. Often when it is not saturated yet it still floats around in a suspension like fine particles but when everything is hydrated it gets clumpy.

How quickly anhydrous acetone becomes 'hydrous' again depends on how much time, air humidity and exposure surface there is... but worrying about a few moments when you pretty much have to open the container, that is just kind of hard to avoid and it's a bit OCD to worry over the small loss.