• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

How much benzo usage would lead to serious withdrawals?

lotek96

Greenlighter
Hey fam,

Been a BL lurker for as long as I can remember. Time to write an actual post.

I've been using benzos for the past 14 years or so. Almost exclusively for sleep / insomnia, rarely recreationally or for anxiety. When I can't sleep, I'll pop 10mg of valium, or 1 / 2mg of Xanax. Sometimes a bit more, sometimes less. If I've been on a bender I'll go as high as ~40mg of Valium to put myself to sleep - not often. I have 100 10mg vals and 100 2mg xans and have gone through about ~50% of that over the course of a year.

There's no consistency to the dosing. Sometimes it'll be daily for weeks when I'm stressed. Sometimes I've gone months without taking them and, as far as I can tell, haven't experienced any withdrawals or comedowns. But I eat them a lot, and don't go anywhere without them. I've started taking aderrall and finding that I'm starting to use them to bring the edge off at the end of the day.

I try to be fairly conscientious of not taking them several days in a row. Or taking weeks off. It doesn't feel like a bad habit because I literally just eat them in bed and then go to sleep, but maybe I'm tricking myself. I've never built up a solid tolerance and it just feels like a regular thing.