• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

How Long Does it Take to Become Physically addicted to Xanax?

cfam

Greenlighter
I have been taking .5 mgs of Xanax once a day for the past 9 days - not wise as it is not prescribed, but I have been going through a stressful situation and felt I needed it to "keep it together" at work until the situation was resolved. Am I likely to suffer from serious PHYSICAL withdrawal symptoms if I stop taking it tomorrow (seizures etc.)? Do I need to taper or is this a low enough dose and a short enough timespan to suggest I'd be ok? I don't mean to sound stupid but I have limited experience with benzos and internet searches have been suggesting a wide array of outcomes so I'd like some input from someone with first-hand experience. Thanks!

IMO no. I think the most you may feel is some rebound anxiety. For me with Xanax that was a little more intense than other benzos. Not unbearable but not exactly comfortable either for a few days with the worst being the comedown. I'd say since you only take a small dose once daily and it's short acting you already know how it's gonna go as it should be comparable to the time between doses. If things are anxiety inducing for you most def set up an appointment with a psychiatrist to be able to manage safely. I just finished posting in another thread about how dangerous it is becoming now with fentanyl cuts. If you aren't getting what you need from a licensed pharmacy your self medicating may prove fatal. Just a word of caution. Oh and no taper IMO would be needed until you've been on it at least 3-4 weeks steady.